The Byrds Preflyte

The Byrds: Preflyte

Episode 1

Episode date - July 1, 2016

How Music Changed

    The Byrds were a virtual byproduct of the Beatles. Originally, they were an amalgamation of folk singers who saw the future after seeing “A Hard Day’s Night.” 

    Jim McGuinn, Gene Clark and David Crosby all worked the Los Angeles folk clubs and came together as The Jet Set, combining their fascination for Dylan and the Beatles by carving something fresh out of the blend. An entire scene would soon develop around the band that would soon flourish, defining the youth culture movement with an avalanche of bands that would soon follow in their footsteps. First there were the Beach Boys, but this is where the California folk-rock sound took root. 

    Featured tracks include;

    1) Please Let Me Love You

    2) Don’t Be Long

    3) You Showed Me

    4) You Movin’

    5) Boston

    6) The Airport Song

    7) You Showed Me

    8) Mr. Tambourine Manv

    9) I’ll Feel a Whole Lot Better

    10) The Bells of Rhymney

    11) All I Really Want to Do

    12) Chimes of Freedom

    Channel 147 - The Byrds